Argentium and my Tumbler

This post has 7 Replies | 4 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
Wee Hippies wrote
on 3 Sep 2011 8:23 PM

I recently purchased some Argentium to make hoops. I worked with the wire to create my pieces and then put them in the oven at 500F for an hour. I read somewhere that I could then pickle them or tumble them to remove the color that developed from the heating process. 

I chose to put them in my new tumbler, but found that this softened the metal again, and didn't really shine up the silver. Being that I just bought the tumbler, I only had 1LB of steel shot in with it. I'm wondering if that was the problem. 

I've never worked with pickle, but have a polishing cloth...

Any pointers would be fabulous. I'm a newbie to this scene who just wants to make her own findings!

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 46
rkymtndrmr wrote
on 3 Sep 2011 11:12 PM

when you make your hoops you work harden the metal .when you heat the metal you anneal it or soften it in time your tumbler will work harden it again what is your thoughts on putting it in the oven. you should pickle to take off the color then tumble. pickle is sodium bisulfate the same as ph decreaser for hot tubs and pools hope this helps 

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 46
rkymtndrmr wrote
on 3 Sep 2011 11:18 PM

never use steel tweezers in pickle it will electroplate your silver use copper tongs

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 371
BogIron wrote
on 8 Sep 2011 2:28 PM

Just about any acid will serve as a pickle. I have made jewelry for a good long while now and have chosen to go with plain white vinegar heated in an old crock pot I bought at a yard sale for one dollar, works great and is inexpensive. A gallon of vinegar is around $2 at Walmart. It is true that you need to use plastic or copper tongs to place or remove items from the pickle solution whatever acid you choose to use.