What are the abilities of 7 to 13 yr olds making jewelry?

This post has 8 Replies | 4 Followers
Top 25 Contributor
Posts 40
LeeAnne70 wrote
on 27 Jun 2010 2:55 PM

I need any advice I can get.  I am teaching a 2 hour session of jewelry making with a FLORAL theme to a gorup of children ages 7 to 13.  I could have 8 to 20 kids and if a  5 yr old wants to come they can.  Does anyone have any Ideas.?  This needs to be pretty arty not just beading.  The age range  and skill level is huge!   So far I am thinking shrinky dink flowers that they draw, color and cut out and use seed beads for the older ones and pony beads or larger seed beads for the younger ones.    I wanted to use metal and wire but I don't think the little ones could handle that.  Maybe flowers made out of heavy duty aluminum foil.  I will have to try that.  I do not have much experience with 7 yr.olds.  My  son is 28,  been a while. I am mainly a wire and metal artist.  Love my hammer!

Any ideas or advise will be appreciated.

Thanks,

Lee Anne

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 189
JanineB@7 wrote
on 28 Jun 2010 9:35 AM

I think that is wonderful that you are involved with the younger generation, you will be amazed with their excitement.

Some suggestions would be to have the kids make simple animal shapes with wire or let them hammer metal to make a Cuff Bracelet. WIth the younger ones I really like your idea of having them imbellish a picture with beads.

My 10yr old Grandson loves working with metal, give him a hammer and a piece of Copper and look out....He is still a little timid with the torches. My 7yr old granddaughter loves to play with beads and she is at an age where she is starting to grasp the idea of patterns and she has made a few necklaces that came out pretty good.

Good luck with your class and please keep us posted regarding your class.

Have a great day,

Janine

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 371
BogIron wrote
on 28 Jun 2010 11:54 AM