Working with stainless steel

This post has 16 Replies | 7 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
fawells25 wrote
on 29 Jan 2012 10:43 PM

I am new to metalsmithing and would like to work with stainless steel.  I have bought and read several metalsmithing books but none explain working with stainless steel.

I have purchased all the necessary equipment (I think) and am ready to start working, however I am stuck. The stainless steel I purchased is very hard and needs to be annealed, but I have no idea on how to do this. 

Any help and information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,  Flo

Top 25 Contributor
Posts 46
rkymtndrmr wrote
on 4 Feb 2012 5:32 PM

i have been a silver and gold smith for 40 years every time someone wants a ring or bracelet from stainless silverware i try to talk them out of it you can anneal it but one bend hardens it i work it red hot more like forging than smithing if you have sheet you can shape it anneal it often and use lots of muscle and a bigger hammer to bad nobody tells people they have to have the basics in softer metals before you try the harder ones if you can get to the west coast there is a good class the first week after labor day if i can be of help  chris

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 106
Tom and Kay wrote
on 9 Feb 2012 12:42 PM

Thanks for your question, Flo.  We will have a response for your soon.  We'd also like to include your question/answer in a future Ask The Experts column in a future print issue.  Please email your last name and city/state of residence to as at:  kbenham@cfl.rr.com.  We think many of our readers will be interested to learn about working with stainless steel.  Best regards, Tom & Kay Benham

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 371
BogIron wrote
on 9 Feb 2012 6:21 PM