How to harden question

This post has 3 Replies | 3 Followers
Not Ranked
Posts 1
barbbeads wrote
on 12 Jan 2012 5:03 AM

Okay I will admit it! I am such a newbie here....So beneath you guys. I made my absolute FIRST spirals and turned them into earrings! It was so much fun....I may just get addicted but how do you harden the metal so it doesn't bend accidentally into some new (completely undesired shape)?  Are their inexpensive ways to doing this?

Are hammers just for adding texture? reforming, etc?

Not Ranked
Posts 3
on 3 May 2012 9:47 AM

This is a really old post, so, I don't know if you'll get this, but, yes there are lots of inexpensive ways to work harden your new earrings. You can hammer them with a rawhide mallet, this will harden them without making marks on the metal. You can hammer them gently with all sorts of hammers which will probably leave marks. Also if your metal is too soft to begin with you can take both ends of the wires ( before you make your spiral ) in pliers and twist the wire to harden somewhat and them spiral them. The more expensive route is to buy a tumbler, stainless steel shot, and burnishing solution and leave your new earrings to tumble for a few hours.(shine plus work hardened!)

Not Ranked
Posts 1
kcdancer wrote
on 10 Jan 2013 2:08 PM

I've been trying to experiment with work hardening wire, but I can't seem to make it work. Does the gauge of the wire make any difference? I've tried like four different hammers and all they do is make a groove in my wood block from the wire. Suggestions?

Top 10 Contributor
Posts 371
BogIron wrote
on 10 Jan 2013 4:22 PM